Louis C. <a href='/search-antiques.asp/art-nouveau-antique-estate/tiffany'>Tiffany</a> 1837 Tiffany & Young is established by Charles Lewis Tiffany and John B. Young as a stationary and fine goods store.

1848 Louis Comfort Tiffany was born February 18 in New York City to Charles Lewis Tiffany and Harriet Olivia Avery Young.

1853 Tiffany and Young is renamed Tiffany & Co.

1866 Louis studies painting under teacher George Inness.

1865-1870 Tiffany leaves school and makes three trips abroad, travelling to Europe and North Africa, with painter R. Swain Gifford. Tiffany was exposed to new different cultural and artistic influences and derived inspiration for the painting “Snake Charmer at Tangier, Africa” exhibited at the 1876 Centennial Exposition in Philadelphia.

1872 Marries wife, Mary Woodbridge Goddard on May 15 in Norwich, CT. Has 4 children with Mary, 3 survive to adulthood.

1875-1878 Experiments with new techniques in stained glass making in the glasshouses of Brooklyn.

1870’s Later in the decade, Tiffany turns his attention away from painting and towards decorative arts and interiors.

Tiffany Studios, located on Madison and 45th Street in New York City.1878 Decorates his top-floor home and studio at the Bella Apartments on 48 East 26th Street in New York City. The leaded-glass window from the entrance hall, one of his earliest windows, illustrates an unconventional use of glass, including experimental opalescent, marbleized, and confetti-type glass, as well as crown glass and rough-cut "jewels."

1879 Tiffany collaborates with Thomas Edison on the lighting design of the Lyceum Theater in New York, the first ever theater to have electric illumination. The light bulb was the impetus for the creation of the famous Tiffany Studios lamps, as their beauty was enhanced by the glow of electric bulbs.

1880 Becomes a full member of National Academy of Design.

1880 Tiffany forms the Louis C. Tiffany Company, “Associated Artists” in partnerships with Lockwood DeForest, furniture and woodwork specialist, Candace Wheeler, textile designer and embroidery specialist, and Samuel Colman. The partnership produced all kinds of decorative items including lights, flooring, windows and furniture. Together Associated Artists decorated many famous houses and buildings, including the Hartford home of Mark Twain and the Veterans' Room of the Regiment Armory in New York.

The Tiffany residence, commisioned by Charles Lewis Tiffany, built by top architects McKim, Mead & White.1881 Patents opalescent window glassmaking technique.

1883 Leaves the firm Louis C. Tiffany Company, Associated Artists to form his own art glassmaking firm.

1884 Wife, Mary Woodbridge Goddard, dies.

1885 Incorporates Tiffany Glass Company on December 1, 1885, which later became known as Tiffany Studios. The glassware was exhibited in Samuel Bing's Gallery "L'Art Nouveau" in Paris.

1885 Tiffany's father commissioned architecture firm McKim, Mead & White to construct a picturesque Romanesque Revival multifamily dwelling on the northwest corner of 72nd Street and Madison Avenue in New York. Louis and his family occupy the top two floors, and he decorates his famous exotic studio, used for his artistic creations and frequent social gatherings.

1886 Marries second wife Louise Wakeman Knox on November 9, 3 children survived to adulthood.

Tiffany's personal art studio inside his residence at 72nd Street and Madison Avenue.1890 Tiffany collaborates with artist Samuel Colman on decorating the 5th Avenue home of Louisine and Henry Osborne, bringing together a wide range of disparate objects and styles to outstanding effect.

1893 Tiffany exhibits at the World's Columbian Exposition in Chicago. His displays included a complete chapel with leaded glass windows, now housed at the Morse Museum of American Art in Winter Park, Florida.

1893 Tiffany builds large workshops and furnaces in Corona, Queens, New York with Arthur Nash, a skilled glassworker from Stourbridge, England. Nash’s furnaces developed a method whereby different colors were blended together in the molten state, achieving subtle effects of shading and texture.

1893 Tiffany registers Favrile as the trademark for his iridescent glass made by the furnaces at his Corona workshops.

1895 Tiffany exhibits at the opening exhibition of Siegfried Bing's L'Art Nouveau Gallery in Paris where work by Lalique is also on display.

1895 Produces the first commercial lamps.

1898 Tiffany and his studios turned toward lighting and lamps. The first Tiffany lamp with a heavy bronze base is introduced. Patterns include the nautilus, dragonfly and Tyler scroll.

The veranda at Laurelton Hall, Tiffany's Long Island country <a href='/search-antiques.asp/art-nouveau-antique-estate/estate'>estate</a>.1899 Tiffany exhibits plaques and vases by the firm at the Grafton Gallery at La Société des Artists Français, introducing enamelwork and the firm’s unique style to London.

1900 “Associated Artists” is reorganized to form “Tiffany Studios.”

1900 He again exhibits at La Société des Artists Français and the Exposition Universelle in Paris, where he showed around 100 pieces of blown Favrile glass, leaded glass windows and a leaded glass screen. Wins Gold medal for applied arts.

1900 Elected chevalier of the Legion of Honour of France.

1902 Tiffany exhibits at the Prima Exposizione d'Arte Decorativa Moderna in Turin, Italy.

1902 Louis becomes the Artistic Director of Tiffany & Co., after his father’s death, and establishes the “Tiffany Art Jewelry” department to produce his unique jewelry and enamels.

1904 Tiffany & Co. pottery, copper enamels and jewelry is exhibited at the Louisiana Purchase Exposition in St. Louis. The pottery, referencing plant forms, was greatly influenced by the work of European Art Nouveau designers, particularly Danish potters Bing and Grøndahl that he had seen in Paris.

The logia from Laurelton Hall installed inside the MET Museum.1905 Tiffany’s grand 84-room Laurelton Hall Estate was completed in the village of Laurel Hollow, Long Island. Showcasing the peak of Tiffany’s design skill in a variety of mediums, the estate was donated to his foundation for art students. It was sadly destroyed by fire in 1957.

1907 Tiffany moves his jewelry studio to Tiffany & Co's head office. His jewelry designs become more stylized.

1918 Establishes the Louis Comfort Tiffany Foundation for young art students at Oyster Bay.

1919 Louis C. Tiffany retires from active participation in his company, but retains title of President. He returns to his first love, oil painting.

1925 Tiffany puts his own collection of enameled decorative objects on exhibition at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York.

1926 Tiffany & Co. wins a gold medal at the Sesquicentennial Expo. In Philadelphia.

1933 Louis C. Tiffany dies at the age of 85 on January 17 in New York City.

The first Tiffany retrospective show increases interest in Tiffany decorative objects.

A detailed view of the mosaic columns from the logia at Laurelton Hall.


1960 Art Nouveau show in 1960 at the Museum of Modern Art further enhances Louis C. Tiffany’s legacy.

2006 A major exhibit at New York's Metropolitan Museum of Art on Laurelton Hall opened in November.